1. Welcome to the eTeknix Forums Guest. Please register or login and remember to read the forum guidelines to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

Are W.U Imporant?

Discussion in 'Windows Software' started by Gurtej Singh, May 9, 2013.

  1. Gurtej Singh

    Gurtej Singh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Ludhiana, Punjab, India
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    AMD Sempron 145 Processor
    Motherboard:
    Simmtronics NV 7050
    Memory (RAM):
    4 Gb
    Storage:
    500 Gb Samsung Seagate HDD
    Graphics Card(s):
    ATI Radeon 3000 Graphics Card
    Case:
    Intex Orion
    Monitor(s):
    Samsung Samtron 17''
    Operating System(s):
    Microsoft Windows 8 Pro
    Simple Question
    Are Windows Updates Important for PC ?
    because i have been installing them but it seems that they have slowed down the speed & they are covering more space than showed one.
    So kindly express you views about this :confused:
     
  2. Djolovicl

    Djolovicl eTeknix Janitor Forum Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,190
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Nis, Serbia
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4770k
    Motherboard:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
    Memory (RAM):
    Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3 2X8GB
    Storage:
    Patriot Ignite 240GB, Crucial BX200 240GB, Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB
    Graphics Card(s):
    GV-N980WF3OC-4GD WINDFORCE
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W GOLD (Modular)
    Case:
    Fractal Design DEFINE R4 Titanium Grey - Window
    Monitor(s):
    ASUS MG279Q 1440p
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Pro.
    Internet Connection:
    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5909046652
    I didnt have any problems with them, but i havent noticed any great improvement in system stability or speed either. TBH i install them because they are there, not because i really feel i need them. :p
     
  3. Zobator

    Zobator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Hasselt, Belgium
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual-Core CPU E5500 @ 2.80GHz
    Graphics Card(s):
    ATI Radeon HD 4650 512MB
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bits
    I install them to get rid of the allerts... I don't notice any difference between installing them or not so it's just a personal choice you'll have to make...
     
  4. Flynn Greenberg

    Flynn Greenberg Moderator Forum Mod

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    57
    Location:
    Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Amd fx 8350
    Motherboard:
    Asus M5A97 R2
    Memory (RAM):
    8gb
    Storage:
    4 tb
    Graphics Card(s):
    MSI R9 290
    Power Supply (PSU):
    750W
    Case:
    Ennermax
    Monitor(s):
    24 inch hd 1920 x 1080
    Operating System(s):
    windows 7
    Internet Connection:
    150mg broadband
    Some updates yes are important for fixing loopholes that a hacker could use etc tho most of the time you will not notice what has been updated
     
  5. Gurtej Singh

    Gurtej Singh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Ludhiana, Punjab, India
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    AMD Sempron 145 Processor
    Motherboard:
    Simmtronics NV 7050
    Memory (RAM):
    4 Gb
    Storage:
    500 Gb Samsung Seagate HDD
    Graphics Card(s):
    ATI Radeon 3000 Graphics Card
    Case:
    Intex Orion
    Monitor(s):
    Samsung Samtron 17''
    Operating System(s):
    Microsoft Windows 8 Pro
    Yes, sometimes it installs the updates automatically & when I turn off the PC or restart it after using few hours, the message appears on the screen
    "Configuring Windows Updates %
    Please Do Not Switch Off Your System"
    from then i changed the settings & i manually check if updates are req. or not
     
  6. comphelp

    comphelp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    QuadCore Intel Core i7-4770, 3900 MHz (39 x 100)
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Formula
    Memory (RAM):
    Corsair8128 MB (DDR3-1333 DDR3 SDRAM)
    Storage:
    M4-CT128M4SSD2 (128 GB), Seagate (1 TB, 5400 RPM, SATA-III)
    Graphics Card(s):
    Asus GTX660 TI-DC2 2 GB
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Axle 450W
    Case:
    Zalman Z12 Plus
    Monitor(s):
    LG W2242T
    Operating System(s):
    Microsoft Windows 10 PRO x64 v.1607
    Internet Connection:
    DSL 50000
    I never used Update Service. I do not think I lost something
     
  7. Hellgador

    Hellgador Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Belgium
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel I7 4770K
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z87-GD65
    Memory (RAM):
    Corsair Vengeance 16Gb (2x8) 1600Mhz (Red)
    Storage:
    Samsung 840 Pro 250Gb (OS + software) , WD Black 1Tb x 2 (Raid 1) + seagate 700Gb(win 10 versioning)
    Graphics Card(s):
    MSI GTX 760 2Gb OC
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Corsair HX750
    Case:
    Corsair 300r
    Monitor(s):
    BenQ xl2411z + HP 2310e
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Pro
    Internet Connection:
    120 Mbps / 10 Mbps
    There are some security updates you really should install.

    Try running ccleaner sometimes and defrag disc's ( Don't defrag ssd's) , that might help.
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)