1. Welcome to the eTeknix Forums Guest. Please register or login and remember to read the forum guidelines to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

"Deep" cleaning my laptop?

Discussion in 'Laptops & PDAs' started by eumex, Apr 28, 2015.

  1. eumex

    eumex New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello.

    I have a 3 or 4 years old dell n5110 and it' running quite slow these days. I have W8.1, did the format couple months ago, so i wanted to know any tips how to really deep clean the windows of unwanted files, temp files, programs etc.

    I'm open to any sugestions. :)
     
  2. Aruffell

    Aruffell The Don eTeknix Staff Forum Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    25,061
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3960X
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabertooth X79
    Memory (RAM):
    16Gb G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz
    Storage:
    OCZ RevoDrive X2 240Gb
    Graphics Card(s):
    KFA2 GeForce GTX 680 EX OC
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1350W
    Case:
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow
    Monitor(s):
    3 x Dell U3011
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Internet Connection:
    BT 7.5Mb :(
    You could always spend some money on the hardware (SSD etc...) if you're after a little speed boost etc...
     
  3. eumex

    eumex New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've thought about the SSD, but i have too many movies etc. more then 500 GB and for this kind of data the SSD's are quite expensive.
     
  4. Djolovicl

    Djolovicl eTeknix Janitor Forum Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Nis, Serbia
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4770k
    Motherboard:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
    Memory (RAM):
    Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3 2X8GB
    Storage:
    Patriot Ignite 240GB, Crucial BX200 240GB, Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB
    Graphics Card(s):
    GV-N980WF3OC-4GD WINDFORCE
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W GOLD (Modular)
    Case:
    Fractal Design DEFINE R4 Titanium Grey - Window
    Monitor(s):
    ASUS MG279Q 1440p
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Pro.
    Internet Connection:
    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5909046652
    Just get an 120GB or 240GB SSD and a decent 2.5" HDD enclosure. You get to keep everything you have on your HDD and you get a fast laptop.
     
  5. Imran Tayab

    Imran Tayab New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried upgrading to Windows 10 ? Its free for anyone with windows 7, 8, or 8.1
     
  6. eumex

    eumex New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it really out already?
    And is it any good?
     
  7. Djolovicl

    Djolovicl eTeknix Janitor Forum Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,191
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Nis, Serbia
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4770k
    Motherboard:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
    Memory (RAM):
    Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3 2X8GB
    Storage:
    Patriot Ignite 240GB, Crucial BX200 240GB, Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB
    Graphics Card(s):
    GV-N980WF3OC-4GD WINDFORCE
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W GOLD (Modular)
    Case:
    Fractal Design DEFINE R4 Titanium Grey - Window
    Monitor(s):
    ASUS MG279Q 1440p
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Pro.
    Internet Connection:
    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5909046652
    Its not, just technical previews. It should be released in a few months. Sources from AMD suggested it will be released in June or July.
     
  8. Andyetagain

    Andyetagain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    where do i go for a Windows 10 upgrade?
     
  9. Andyetagain

    Andyetagain New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    have an old Compaq/Hp laptop i want to change the OS to Win 10 currently running a fake copy of win7
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)