1. Welcome to the eTeknix Forums Guest. Please register or login and remember to read the forum guidelines to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

Should I change my Laptop's thermal paste?

Discussion in 'Laptops & PDAs' started by Geraldzgg, Mar 26, 2013.

  1. Geraldzgg

    Geraldzgg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Show PC Specs
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7
    Internet Connection:
    Broadband
    Hi guys,

    My laptop has been with me for 2 years now, and I run it almost everyday for 5-8 hours a day. I mainly use for gaming or doing my tasks. I was stalking on this thread regarding to thermal paste here. So should I change it?
     
  2. Rik1254

    Rik1254 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Abertillery, S.Wales Valleys
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Core i5-2500k
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe
    Memory (RAM):
    8GB Kingston Genesis 1866Mhz DDR3
    Storage:
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 830 128GB, 2TB WDG 64mb, 3TB Seagate 64mb
    Graphics Card(s):
    Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Corsair AX760i
    Case:
    Corsair Carbide 250D
    Monitor(s):
    Too many
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
    Internet Connection:
    FIBERRRRRRRRRR
    Does it get hot at all?
    IMHO, unless it shuts down due to over heating, the hassle of taking a laptop apart just to shave a few degree's doesn't seem worth it.
     
  3. Tuilalcaron

    Tuilalcaron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    946
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    i5 2500k @ 4.4Ghz
    Motherboard:
    MSI Z68A-GD65
    Memory (RAM):
    8GB Corsair Vengeance
    Storage:
    2 x Samsung 320gb HDD, 1TBGG Samsung F1, 60gb OCZ Agility 3 SSD
    Graphics Card(s):
    MSI 7950 Twin Frozr III
    Power Supply (PSU):
    OCZ ZX-650W
    Case:
    Zalman Z9 Plus
    Monitor(s):
    Cheap generic 19inch 1440 x 900
    Operating System(s):
    Widnows 7 Home 64bit
    Internet Connection:
    Really rubbish 0.4mb
    Completely agree with what Rik has said to be honest. If it's working fine i wouldn't bother as it's just not worth the hassle
     
  4. Geraldzgg

    Geraldzgg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Show PC Specs
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7
    Internet Connection:
    Broadband
    no, not at all I'm using a notebook cooler as well, while gaming temperature range from 45-55 degree and maximum is 65, it's never even reach 70 degree( it was happen once when it was 45 degree celcius here during summer but then I turned it off straight away.
     
  5. Rik1254

    Rik1254 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Abertillery, S.Wales Valleys
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Core i5-2500k
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe
    Memory (RAM):
    8GB Kingston Genesis 1866Mhz DDR3
    Storage:
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 830 128GB, 2TB WDG 64mb, 3TB Seagate 64mb
    Graphics Card(s):
    Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Corsair AX760i
    Case:
    Corsair Carbide 250D
    Monitor(s):
    Too many
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
    Internet Connection:
    FIBERRRRRRRRRR
    Those are pretty good temp's for a gaming laptop, maybe a bit high, but well within a respectable range.

    Considering the laptop is 2 years old and you do have a hotter than average climate (compared to the UK), just keep an eye on the temps, but I wouldn't be considering a paste change yet.
     
  6. Geraldzgg

    Geraldzgg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Show PC Specs
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7
    Internet Connection:
    Broadband
    Alright then, thanks for the suggestion :)
     
  7. Rik1254

    Rik1254 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Abertillery, S.Wales Valleys
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Core i5-2500k
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe
    Memory (RAM):
    8GB Kingston Genesis 1866Mhz DDR3
    Storage:
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 830 128GB, 2TB WDG 64mb, 3TB Seagate 64mb
    Graphics Card(s):
    Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Corsair AX760i
    Case:
    Corsair Carbide 250D
    Monitor(s):
    Too many
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
    Internet Connection:
    FIBERRRRRRRRRR
    Don't get me wrong, if you feel up to it and have a few spare hours, do it. It can only make things better right?
     
  8. shinobivsme

    shinobivsme Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Show PC Specs
    Monitor(s):
    old ass 19" crap brand
    Operating System(s):
    Win 7
    Internet Connection:
    Sky
    I don't think you'd get a huge benefit out of doing it, and as these guys have said its probably not worth the hassle.
    one thing you might want to think about is cleaning dust out of it though, laptops in my experience are worse than desktops for hoarding dust in their fans (probably due to the lack of vents) might also reduce noise if your fans arent churning there way through a sea of dead skin cells and fluff
     
  9. n2th2n

    n2th2n Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philippines
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    I core 5
    Memory (RAM):
    8 gig
    Storage:
    500 HD
    Graphics Card(s):
    GT 555m
    Operating System(s):
    windows 7
    im using msi ge620dx, how do i apply the thermal paste? is it just a few drops? or should I occupy the whole square-thingy?
     
  10. Geraldzgg

    Geraldzgg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Show PC Specs
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7
    Internet Connection:
    Broadband
    you only need 1 'dot' of thermal paste, if you put it on the whole square, it will stick like a superglue (I know this from my friend)
     
  11. JasonG

    JasonG Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Most people do a dot or a small line.
     
  12. Rik1254

    Rik1254 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Abertillery, S.Wales Valleys
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Core i5-2500k
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe
    Memory (RAM):
    8GB Kingston Genesis 1866Mhz DDR3
    Storage:
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 830 128GB, 2TB WDG 64mb, 3TB Seagate 64mb
    Graphics Card(s):
    Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Corsair AX760i
    Case:
    Corsair Carbide 250D
    Monitor(s):
    Too many
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
    Internet Connection:
    FIBERRRRRRRRRR
    I've actually tested the various methods of thermal paste "spread", from the grain of rice to completely smothering the CPU in the tube. I found there is no actual difference if you tighten the heatsink down enough. The problem is that too much paste squirts over the sides and cakes everything around it and in some cases, shorting the motherboard out.

    I might try and steal some TIM and officially do this test, along with a "which paste is best" comparison.
     
  13. JasonG

    JasonG Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Surprised no one offers stick on strips of paste. Unless they do. :D
     
  14. Rik1254

    Rik1254 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Abertillery, S.Wales Valleys
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Core i5-2500k
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe
    Memory (RAM):
    8GB Kingston Genesis 1866Mhz DDR3
    Storage:
    Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, Samsung 830 128GB, 2TB WDG 64mb, 3TB Seagate 64mb
    Graphics Card(s):
    Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX 970
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Corsair AX760i
    Case:
    Corsair Carbide 250D
    Monitor(s):
    Too many
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
    Internet Connection:
    FIBERRRRRRRRRR
    Don't get me wrong, less is better as long as you know there's enough to cover your CPU, takes time and patients to learn how much you really need and I'm still learning.
    I must admit though, I do a small dot in the middle of the CPU and depending what mood I'm in, I'll either spread it with a card or squish it with the heat sink.

    They do...and they're shocking. Similar sort of pads that you get to cool the memory on GPU's.
     
  15. Underoath

    Underoath New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    Show PC Specs
    Operating System(s):
    XP / 7
    I change the thermalpaste of my 4year laptop when it starts to reach 80°. After that it reaches 45°. So when it still run fine don't change it. And i use the 1 small dot method. Its the most safe one
     
  16. TheWOLF26

    TheWOLF26 Forum Mod

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Romania
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel core I7 2600K 3.4Ghz with custom made watercooling
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P8P67 REV 3
    Memory (RAM):
    Kingston HyperX Savage 8GB(2x4GB), DDR3, 1600MHz, CL9, 1.5V, XMP
    Storage:
    WD Caviar Blue 1TB SATA3 6GB/s
    Graphics Card(s):
    EVGA GTX 680 Classified 4GB
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Corsair GS800
    Case:
    An MSI old case(a very HARD case)
    Monitor(s):
    ASUS VH222D 22" 1920x1080
    Operating System(s):
    WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64 bit
    Internet Connection:
    Broadband 1000mb/s
    Have you changed the thermal paste ? If not i don't see the point... if you hit very high temps YES.. change it... but if you don't get restarts or any other error don't worth.
     
  17. Geraldzgg

    Geraldzgg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Show PC Specs
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7
    Internet Connection:
    Broadband
    Not yet, it's autumn in Australia now so it's a bit freezing and my laptop is still fine, my laptop hasn't beg me to change the thermal paste yet haha
     
  18. EquestrianPrincess

    EquestrianPrincess New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Oh you're so lucky. My laptop runs 50-60 idle when on a cooling desk.
     
  19. funkydunk

    funkydunk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2015
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    UK
    Have to do my Vaio once a year at least. F series I have are ridiculously noisy when cooling so like to keep it cool and dust free. Pretty easy once you've done it once. just changed my Jack as well which was a bit trickier but least it charges properly again.
     
  20. MariaMSK

    MariaMSK Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    My Vaio is 4 years old, do i need change thermalpaste? He's not very noisy but maybe time to come?
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)