1. Welcome to the eTeknix Forums Guest. Please register or login and remember to read the forum guidelines to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

Convert FLAC to WMA or AAC?

Discussion in 'Windows Software' started by David Macdonald Ajang, Feb 3, 2012.

  1. David Macdonald Ajang

    David Macdonald Ajang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2600 3.4GHz
    Motherboard:
    ECS H67H2-M
    Memory (RAM):
    8GB Kingston DDR3-1333
    Storage:
    60GB Patriot Pyro SATA3; 640GB WD SATA2 7200rpm
    Graphics Card(s):
    Powercolor Radeon HD6870 2GB
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Cooler Master GX 750W
    Case:
    Aerocool Aeroengine 2
    Monitor(s):
    HP LP2475W IPS 1920x1200
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 HP 64-bit
    Internet Connection:
    512kbps DSL
    I was thinking of converting all my FLAC files. It's just that I'm not sure which setting is more efficient in preserving the original fidelity while remaining small in size:

    AAC 320kbps
    AAC 500kbps
    WMA8 640kpps
    WMA8 320kbps
    WMA9.2 VBR

    MP3 is not an option for obvious reasons. Sampling rate is set to 48KHz. I've never seen a 96KHz option in any audio converter. I don't know why, but I would like to see it implemented.

    Reasons for converting: Free up more hard drive space (later I'm going to convert all my videos to H264 MP4 to save even more space) & support for Windows Media Player's Library (so OGG is out too).
     
  2. Aruffell

    Aruffell The Don eTeknix Staff Forum Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    27,521
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3960X
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabertooth X79
    Memory (RAM):
    16Gb G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz
    Storage:
    OCZ RevoDrive X2 240Gb
    Graphics Card(s):
    KFA2 GeForce GTX 680 EX OC
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1350W
    Case:
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow
    Monitor(s):
    3 x Dell U3011
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Internet Connection:
    BT 7.5Mb :(
    I believe Adobe Audition can convert to 96Khz MP3, may be wrong though.
     
  3. ryandigweed

    ryandigweed Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    1
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium D945
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5KPL-CM
    Memory (RAM):
    Corsair 1GB DDR2
    Storage:
    Seagate 80GB Sata (4MB Cache)
    Graphics Card(s):
    EVGA GTX560
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Cooler Master Extreme Power 500W
    Monitor(s):
    LG W2452V
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 SP1 (32-bit)
    Internet Connection:
    2MB (Shared)
    Maybe AAC, it is more widely used.

    Ahh, how i would love to save my music in FLAC, but I have such less space :(
     
  4. BadNoddy

    BadNoddy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent /
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom X4 @ 3.3GHz with CM V10 cooler
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    Memory (RAM):
    16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws X
    Storage:
    3x 64Gb SSD in RAID0 & ~3TB across other network drives
    Graphics Card(s):
    KFA2 GeForce GTX 470
    Power Supply (PSU):
    NZXT Hale90 750W
    Case:
    Xigmatec WhiteKnight
    Monitor(s):
    LG 22LS4D
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
    Internet Connection:
    BT Infinity @ 79.9Mbps :D
    I've got somewhere a FLAC to AAC/MP3 converter. Does both formats at different bitrates - will have to see if i can find it....
     
  5. ryandigweed

    ryandigweed Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    1
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium D945
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5KPL-CM
    Memory (RAM):
    Corsair 1GB DDR2
    Storage:
    Seagate 80GB Sata (4MB Cache)
    Graphics Card(s):
    EVGA GTX560
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Cooler Master Extreme Power 500W
    Monitor(s):
    LG W2452V
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 SP1 (32-bit)
    Internet Connection:
    2MB (Shared)
    I use a software called "Format Factory"
     
  6. David Macdonald Ajang

    David Macdonald Ajang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 2600 3.4GHz
    Motherboard:
    ECS H67H2-M
    Memory (RAM):
    8GB Kingston DDR3-1333
    Storage:
    60GB Patriot Pyro SATA3; 640GB WD SATA2 7200rpm
    Graphics Card(s):
    Powercolor Radeon HD6870 2GB
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Cooler Master GX 750W
    Case:
    Aerocool Aeroengine 2
    Monitor(s):
    HP LP2475W IPS 1920x1200
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 HP 64-bit
    Internet Connection:
    512kbps DSL
    So AAC is superior than WMA at any bitrate? BTW, is 2-pass encoding recommended for AAC?
     
  7. ryandigweed

    ryandigweed Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    1
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Pentium D945
    Motherboard:
    ASUS P5KPL-CM
    Memory (RAM):
    Corsair 1GB DDR2
    Storage:
    Seagate 80GB Sata (4MB Cache)
    Graphics Card(s):
    EVGA GTX560
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Cooler Master Extreme Power 500W
    Monitor(s):
    LG W2452V
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 SP1 (32-bit)
    Internet Connection:
    2MB (Shared)

    I think you should choose a higher bitrate if you want.
     
  8. comphelp

    comphelp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    QuadCore Intel Core i7-4770, 3900 MHz (39 x 100)
    Motherboard:
    Asus Maximus VI Formula
    Memory (RAM):
    Corsair8128 MB (DDR3-1333 DDR3 SDRAM)
    Storage:
    M4-CT128M4SSD2 (128 GB), Seagate (1 TB, 5400 RPM, SATA-III)
    Graphics Card(s):
    Asus GTX660 TI-DC2 2 GB
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Axle 450W
    Case:
    Zalman Z12 Plus
    Monitor(s):
    LG W2242T
    Operating System(s):
    Microsoft Windows 10 PRO x64 v.1607
    Internet Connection:
    DSL 50000
    I use foobar2000.
    Excellent, small, free and very talented program
     
  9. dabotilready

    dabotilready New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Many people said iTunes can do this job. That's a tale of a tub. iTunes does not support FLAC as the input format. How can iTunes convert FLAC to WMA or AAC?

    From Macrumors, I found out an excellent solution to convert FLAC to AAC or WMA with Faasoft FLAC to AAC Converter.

    1. The solution will help you convert FLAC to AAC, WMA, MP3, WAV, M4A, ALAC, CAF, DTS, AIFF, etc;

    2. It also allows you to optimize the output file.
     
  10. happyeverydaywe

    happyeverydaywe New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    • I use iDealshare VideoGo to convert FLAC to AAC, WAV, M4A, MP3, AIFF, DTS or convert video or audio files to FLAC.


      I like its conversion without quality loss.

    • I also like its editing function like increse audio volume, adjust audio channel, code, etc
     
  11. BakerMan1971

    BakerMan1971 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Garforth, Yorkshire
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    i7 5820k @ 4.3GHz 1.255vcore cooled by a Custom EK/XSPC ION loop
    Motherboard:
    MSI X99S SLI Plus
    Memory (RAM):
    16gb DDR 4 2400MHz Ripjaws + 16gb Avexir Raiden ROG
    Storage:
    750GB EVO, 240GB Chronos + 2x1TB Seagate HDD's
    Graphics Card(s):
    Gigabyte GTX1060 Mini OC 6GB
    Power Supply (PSU):
    750W Seasonic Snow Silent
    Case:
    Cooltek (Jonsbo) W2
    Monitor(s):
    AOC 28" 4k
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Professional
    Internet Connection:
    FTTC 76 down 20 up.
    can audacity not help with a plugin?
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)