1. Welcome to the eTeknix Forums Guest. Please register or login and remember to read the forum guidelines to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

HAF 912 and USB 3.0

Discussion in 'Cooler Master' started by Larry Darren, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. Larry Darren

    Larry Darren Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Just a quick question please.
    I was wondering if there was a way I could change the default USB 2.0 on the HAF 912 front panel I/O ports to
    a USB 3.0 version?

    Thanks in advance.
    I love this tower, using for my new PC build. Slowly getting parts, but would love to be able to use the USB 3.0
    on the MOBO I'm going to use.
     
  2. BadNoddy

    BadNoddy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maidstone, Kent /
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom X4 @ 3.3GHz with CM V10 cooler
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX
    Memory (RAM):
    16Gb G.Skill Ripjaws X
    Storage:
    3x 64Gb SSD in RAID0 & ~3TB across other network drives
    Graphics Card(s):
    KFA2 GeForce GTX 470
    Power Supply (PSU):
    NZXT Hale90 750W
    Case:
    Xigmatec WhiteKnight
    Monitor(s):
    LG 22LS4D
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
    Internet Connection:
    BT Infinity @ 79.9Mbps :D
    What motherboard have you got installed in your 912? Some boards come with a USB3.0 front panel add-on that bolts into a floppy drive bay. Failing that you can pick up the same USB3.0 front panel bays off the likes of eBay for not that much and that would give you the USB3.0 functionality that you require whilst also keeping the USB2.0 there as well.
     
  3. Cooler Master Support

    Cooler Master Support New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eindhoven, The Netherlands
    Hey Larry,

    Yes you can upgrade it. But then you need to go here: HAF 912 5.25" USB 3.0 bracket - Cooler Master Europe Store
    and by a bracket. That would mean you loose a 5,25" bat but at least you will have the 3.0 then!

    Regards,
    CM
     
  4. Aruffell

    Aruffell The Don eTeknix Staff Forum Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    25,375
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3960X
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabertooth X79
    Memory (RAM):
    16Gb G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz
    Storage:
    OCZ RevoDrive X2 240Gb
    Graphics Card(s):
    KFA2 GeForce GTX 680 EX OC
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1350W
    Case:
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow
    Monitor(s):
    3 x Dell U3011
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Internet Connection:
    BT 7.5Mb :(
    Larry, did you end up getting the bit you need?

    Andy
     
  5. Larry Darren

    Larry Darren Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Yeah, I received a breakout box with the USB 3.0 jacks I was looking for.

    Thanks for all the great advice from all the replies.
     
  6. Aruffell

    Aruffell The Don eTeknix Staff Forum Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    25,375
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 3960X
    Motherboard:
    Asus Sabertooth X79
    Memory (RAM):
    16Gb G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz
    Storage:
    OCZ RevoDrive X2 240Gb
    Graphics Card(s):
    KFA2 GeForce GTX 680 EX OC
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake ToughPower 1350W
    Case:
    Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow
    Monitor(s):
    3 x Dell U3011
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    Internet Connection:
    BT 7.5Mb :(
    No problem, glad you got it all sorted :)

    Andy
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)