1. Welcome to the eTeknix Forums Guest. Please register or login and remember to read the forum guidelines to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

Official Windows 10 Technical Preview Thread

Discussion in 'Windows Software' started by Aruffell, Oct 23, 2014.

  1. Mikhail

    Mikhail Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Third planet from the Sun
    I'll try it... in 2016 or 2017. Not early than Windows 10 Service Pack 1 arrive.
     
  2. Rosve Asuncion

    Rosve Asuncion New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    i7-3770
    Motherboard:
    B75MA-P45
    Memory (RAM):
    4GB Kingston
    Storage:
    500GB SEAGATE
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Corsair VS450
    Operating System(s):
    Dual boot Windows 10/8.1
    And something about it doesn't seem right :/ . i feel like the start menu is not aligned with the taskbar. Maybe because i'm using desktop -not touch laptop
     
  3. athatcher82

    athatcher82 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been reading some great things about Win 10 and I am pretty excited to try it out, however, I wont be dipping my toes in until it has been fully released and stable.
     
  4. Whiskers

    Whiskers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I absolutely hated Windows 8 when I previewed it but I really think that I might upgrade my main machine to 10 when it is released, it just works better on a machine with a keyboard and mouse than 8 ever did and I'm sure the design will grow on me, just like Yosemite did...
     
  5. Beapo

    Beapo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    do you guys know if it is possible to upgrade to windows 10 on another hdd? I have a hdd only for windows(nearly full) and someone mentioned that it automatically upgraded on the same hdd.
     
  6. Djolovicl

    Djolovicl eTeknix Janitor Forum Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Nis, Serbia
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4770k
    Motherboard:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
    Memory (RAM):
    Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3 2X8GB
    Storage:
    Patriot Ignite 240GB, Crucial BX200 240GB, Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB
    Graphics Card(s):
    GV-N980WF3OC-4GD WINDFORCE
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W GOLD (Modular)
    Case:
    Fractal Design DEFINE R4 Titanium Grey - Window
    Monitor(s):
    ASUS MG279Q 1440p
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Pro.
    Internet Connection:
    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5909046652
    It can only upgrade in the same partition your Windows is installed. If you want it on another HDD or partition, it has to be a fresh install. You can however clone your system partition on to a bigger one, set it as system partition and wipe the old one then do an upgrade. But its can be a bit of a challenge and you would need to get your hands on the right software.
     
  7. Beyond Malachi

    Beyond Malachi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone able to confirm that we won't have to be stuck with 'flat look' icons? (Even if it means having to install third party icons, I'll be happy - just so long as it's an option somehow).
     
  8. BakerMan1971

    BakerMan1971 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Garforth, Yorkshire
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    i7 5820k @ 4.3GHz 1.255vcore cooled by a Custom EK/XSPC ION loop
    Motherboard:
    MSI X99S SLI Plus
    Memory (RAM):
    16gb DDR 4 2400MHz Ripjaws + 16gb Avexir Raiden ROG
    Storage:
    750GB EVO, 240GB Chronos + 2x1TB Seagate HDD's
    Graphics Card(s):
    Gigabyte GTX1060 Mini OC 6GB
    Power Supply (PSU):
    750W Seasonic Snow Silent
    Case:
    Cooltek (Jonsbo) W2
    Monitor(s):
    AOC 28" 4k
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Professional
    Internet Connection:
    FTTC 76 down 20 up.
    Ok guys, who else got upgraded to the "release" version? Shiftnplay and me have it, looking good
    Wondering if anyone has located the USB installer generator app, or do we have to go 3rd Party?

    As it's dual booting I would like to fresh install the whole thing.
     
  9. Djolovicl

    Djolovicl eTeknix Janitor Forum Mod

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    2,199
    Likes Received:
    218
    Location:
    Nis, Serbia
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4770k
    Motherboard:
    ASUS MAXIMUS VII HERO
    Memory (RAM):
    Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3 2X8GB
    Storage:
    Patriot Ignite 240GB, Crucial BX200 240GB, Seagate Barracuda ST3000DM001 3TB
    Graphics Card(s):
    GV-N980WF3OC-4GD WINDFORCE
    Power Supply (PSU):
    Thermaltake Toughpower 750W GOLD (Modular)
    Case:
    Fractal Design DEFINE R4 Titanium Grey - Window
    Monitor(s):
    ASUS MG279Q 1440p
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Pro.
    Internet Connection:
    http://www.speedtest.net/my-result/5909046652
  10. BakerMan1971

    BakerMan1971 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Garforth, Yorkshire
    Show PC Specs
    CPU:
    i7 5820k @ 4.3GHz 1.255vcore cooled by a Custom EK/XSPC ION loop
    Motherboard:
    MSI X99S SLI Plus
    Memory (RAM):
    16gb DDR 4 2400MHz Ripjaws + 16gb Avexir Raiden ROG
    Storage:
    750GB EVO, 240GB Chronos + 2x1TB Seagate HDD's
    Graphics Card(s):
    Gigabyte GTX1060 Mini OC 6GB
    Power Supply (PSU):
    750W Seasonic Snow Silent
    Case:
    Cooltek (Jonsbo) W2
    Monitor(s):
    AOC 28" 4k
    Operating System(s):
    Windows 10 Professional
    Internet Connection:
    FTTC 76 down 20 up.
    Media creation tools thanks Djolovicl for the link, need to get my USB sticks in line :)
     

Share This Page

Users Viewing Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 0)